Menu
Prometric ยท SCC ยท 2026 ยท Free

Virginia Property & Casualty Insurance License Practice Exam

Series 11-03: 135 scored questions plus 10 unscored pretest questions, 150 minutes, $35 exam fee. Prometric does not publish a passing score, and auto liability minimums are 50/100/25 for policies effective from 2025.

135Scored Qs (+10 pretest)
2 hrs 30 minTime Limit
Not publishedPassing Score
NonePre-License Ed.
PrometricAdministered By

Virginia Property & Casualty โ€” Study by Topic

Focus on Virginia insurance law or drill national concepts. The real Series 11-03 exam is one 135-question exam with no separate state section, and a full 135-question timed practice exam is available.

Property Insurance

Homeowners (HO forms), dwelling, commercial property, inland marine, fire, open vs. named perils, ACV vs. replacement cost.

20 questions

Casualty & Liability

Auto insurance, CGL, workers' comp, umbrella, bonds, commercial auto, professional liability, employers' liability.

20 questions

Virginia State Law

SCC Bureau of Insurance, Virginia Insurance Code (Title 38.2), auto minimums 50/100/25 from 2025, auto cancellation and nonrenewal rules, unfair trade practices.

30 questions

P&C Concepts

Contract law, insurable interest, subrogation, indemnity, ACV, pro rata vs. short-rate, coinsurance, underwriting principles.

20 questions

🌟 Full VA P&C Exam

135-question timed practice exam modeled on Prometric Series 11-03, which allows 2 hrs 30 min. Prometric does not publish a passing score.

135 questions

About the Virginia Property & Casualty Insurance Exam

Virginia agent licensing exams are administered by Prometric for the State Corporation Commission's Bureau of Insurance. The Property and Casualty exam is Series 11-03, and Virginia also offers a separate Personal Lines exam (11-07) allowing 120 minutes. Virginia requires pre-licensing education only for the Title license, so the property and casualty exam has no education requirement. Resident applicants for a new license must be fingerprinted (Va. Code ยง 38.2-1819), and exams can be taken at a test center or by remote proctoring.

The Series 11-03 content outline lists 135 scored questions plus 10 unscored pretest questions, and the bulletin allows 150 minutes. The exam fee is $35. Prometric's bulletin does not publish a passing score: the total is the number correct divided by the total number of questions, and the score report shows the percentage correct in each major section. Exam results stay valid for a license application for 183 calendar days.

135Scored Qs (+10 pretest)
2 hrs 30 minTime Limit
Not publishedPassing Score
NonePre-License Ed.
PrometricAdministered By

Virginia Property & Casualty Insurance Exam Topic Breakdown

SectionQuestions / WeightKey Topics
1. Insurance Regulation15% (20)Licensing, state regulation (unfair trade practices), federal regulation (FCRA, fraud statutes), NAIC
2. General Insurance9% (12)Risk concepts, insurer types, agency rules, contract law
3. P&C Insurance Basics13% (18)Insurable interest, liability and negligence, loss valuation, policy structure, common provisions, Virginia-required provisions
4. Dwelling Policy5% (7)DP-1/2/3 forms, Coverages A-E, exclusions, conditions, endorsements
5. Homeowners Policy13% (18)HO-3/4/5/6 forms, Section I and II coverages, additional coverages, exclusions, conditions, endorsements
6. Auto Insurance16% (21)Virginia financial responsibility and UM/UIM laws, personal auto policy, commercial auto forms
7. Commercial Package Policy (CPP)12% (16)General liability, commercial property, crime, inland marine, boiler and machinery, farm coverage, endorsements
8. Businessowners Policy5% (7)Sections I-III, endorsements
9. Workers Compensation Insurance7% (9)Covered employment, Virginia assigned-risk plan
10. Other Coverages and Options5% (7)Umbrella/excess, specialty liability, surplus lines, surety bonds, D&O/EPL, National Flood Insurance Program, watercraft, FAIR plan

Weights and item counts are from the Prometric Virginia content outline for Series 11-03 (135 scored questions plus 10 unscored pretest questions). The item counts listed in the outline add to 128, not 135, and the outline does not explain the difference. Virginia law is tested within the sections above rather than in a separate state portion.

What Makes the Virginia Property & Casualty Exam Different

One exam, one score. Series 11-03 is a single 135-question scored exam. The bulletin says the total score is the number correct divided by the total number of questions, with section percentages shown on the score report only to guide study. It does not describe separate passing marks for national and state sections.

Auto liability minimums. Va. Code ยง 46.2-472 sets minimum liability limits of $50,000 per person and $100,000 per accident for bodily injury or death and $25,000 for property damage for policies effective on or after January 1, 2025. Policies effective from January 1, 2022 to before January 1, 2025 carried 30/60/20.

Cancellation and nonrenewal notice. Under Va. Code ยง 38.2-2212, a motor vehicle insurer may cancel only for limited grounds: a suspended or revoked license, nonpayment of premium, or a change of legal residence. Cancellation or nonrenewal takes effect at least 45 days after notice, or at least 15 days for nonpayment.

Personal lines is separate. Virginia also offers a Personal Lines exam (Series 11-07, 120 minutes). The bulletin does not give its question count, so this page covers the Property and Casualty exam.

Retake rules and score validity. The bulletin requires a 24-hour wait before rebooking a failed exam, and Va. Code ยง 38.2-1817(B) imposes a 30-calendar-day wait after a third failure. Exam results are valid for a license application for 183 calendar days.

Fingerprints and application. Resident applicants are fingerprinted at a FieldPrint site by live scan (prints must be no more than 90 days old), then apply through Sircon or NIPR. Applications take about 15 business days, or at least 30 business days if you answer yes to a background question.

Sample Virginia Property & Casualty Insurance Exam Questions

1. For a Virginia motor vehicle liability policy effective on or after January 1, 2025, what are the minimum limits for bodily injury per person, bodily injury per accident, and property damage?

  • A. $25,000 / $50,000 / $20,000
  • B. $30,000 / $60,000 / $20,000
  • C. $50,000 / $100,000 / $25,000
  • D. $100,000 / $300,000 / $50,000
Correct: C. Va. Code ยง 46.2-472 sets the minimum liability limits for policies effective on or after January 1, 2025 at $50,000 for bodily injury or death of one person, $100,000 for two or more persons in one accident and $25,000 for property damage. The 30/60/20 limits applied to policies effective from January 1, 2022 until January 1, 2025.

2. A Virginia insurer cancels a motor vehicle insurance policy for nonpayment of premium. What is the earliest the cancellation can take effect after notice is mailed or delivered?

  • A. 10 days
  • B. 15 days
  • C. 30 days
  • D. 45 days
Correct: B. Va. Code ยง 38.2-2212(E)(2) requires the effective date of a cancellation or nonrenewal to be at least 45 days after notice is mailed or delivered, except that a cancellation for nonpayment of premium may take effect less than 45 days after notice, but at least 15 days after. Nonpayment is one of the limited grounds in subsection D.

3. A Virginia applicant passes the licensing exam but does not obtain the license. After how many calendar days does the exam grade become invalid?

  • A. 30 calendar days
  • B. 90 calendar days
  • C. 183 calendar days
  • D. 365 calendar days
Correct: C. Va. Code ยง 38.2-1817(F) provides that if an applicant does not get the license within 183 calendar days of passing, the examination grade is considered invalid, the applicant forfeits the examination and application processing fees, and must reapply. Va. Code ยง 38.2-1819(C) sets the same 183-day limit for issuing a resident license.

Study Tips for the Virginia Property & Casualty Exam

Auto Insurance (21 questions), Insurance Regulation (20), P&C Basics (18) and Homeowners (18) are the four largest sections, together about 57% of the 135 scored questions. Study those first, then Commercial Package (16), General Insurance (12) and Workers Compensation (9).

Virginia law is tested mainly in Insurance Regulation, P&C Basics (Virginia-required provisions) and Auto Insurance (financial responsibility and UM/UIM laws). Know the current minimum limits (50/100/25 from 2025) and the cancellation notice periods in Va. Code ยง 38.2-2212.

No passing score is published, so aim for strong results in every section. Your report shows the percentage correct in each major section, which is a useful guide if you must retake. Retakes need a new fee and a 24-hour wait, and your result is valid for a license application for 183 days.

Also licensing in life or health? See our Virginia Life & Health practice exam. National content is in our property and casualty practice exam, and our insurance license exam study guide covers exam strategy.

How to Get Your Virginia Property & Casualty Insurance License

There are four steps to get your Virginia insurance agent license for Property and Casualty.

Steps to Get Your Virginia Property & Casualty Insurance License

StepWhat to Do
1. PrepareVirginia has no pre-licensing education requirement for the Property and Casualty exam (only Title requires a course), and neither the Bureau nor Prometric approves study materials. Review the Series 11-03 content outline from Prometric.
2. Register and ScheduleRegister with Prometric, pay the $35 exam fee and schedule at a test center or by remote proctoring. Registration expires 90 calendar days after processing. Bring two valid IDs, the primary one government-issued with photo and signature.
3. Pass the ExamYou have 150 minutes for 135 scored questions. Prometric does not publish a passing score, and your report shows the percentage correct in each major section. Your result is valid for a license application for 183 calendar days.
4. Be Fingerprinted and ApplyRegister and pay for live scan at a FieldPrint site, then apply through Sircon or NIPR with your documents. Processing takes about 15 business days. Renew every two years with 16 hours of CE for a single license category, including 3 hours of ethics.

Virginia Property & Casualty Insurance License Requirements at a Glance

RequirementDetail
ExamSeries 11-03 Property and Casualty, Prometric; also 11-07 Personal Lines (120 minutes)
Scored questions135, plus 10 unscored pretest questions
Time limit150 minutes
Exam fee$35 per examination
Passing scoreNot stated in the Prometric bulletin; total is number correct divided by total questions
Pre-license educationNone for property and casualty; only the Title exam requires a 16-hour course
Auto liability minimums$50,000 / $100,000 / $25,000 for policies effective on or after January 1, 2025 (Va. Code ยง 46.2-472)
FingerprintingRequired for resident applicants through a FieldPrint live scan site (Va. Code ยง 38.2-1819)
Score validity183 calendar days for a license application
RetakesWait 24 hours before rebooking; after a third failure wait 30 calendar days (Va. Code ยง 38.2-1817)
License term and CETwo years, renewed by birth month; 16 hours of CE per biennium for one license category, 3 hours of ethics
Testing methodPrometric test center or remote proctoring (ProProctor)
Licensing authorityVirginia State Corporation Commission Bureau of Insurance

Verified against the Prometric Virginia License Information Bulletin and content outline, the State Corporation Commission Bureau of Insurance licensing page, and the Code of Virginia Titles 38.2 and 46.2. Fees and requirements change; confirm current figures with the Bureau and Prometric before you apply.

Our free Virginia Property & Casualty practice exam covers general insurance and Virginia content. You can also try the national property and casualty practice exam or the insurance license exam study guide.

Interested in where this license leads? See our guide to insurance careers โ€” including salary ranges, how to break in, and what the career looks like day to day.

Frequently Asked Questions โ€” Virginia Property & Casualty Insurance Exam

How many questions are on the Virginia Property and Casualty exam?

The Series 11-03 content outline lists 135 scored questions plus 10 unscored pretest questions, with a 150-minute time limit. The pretest questions are mixed in and not identified.

What is the passing score for the Virginia insurance exam?

The Prometric bulletin does not state a passing score. It says the total score is the number of correct answers divided by the total number of questions, and the report shows the percentage correct in each major section.

Does Virginia require pre-licensing education for Property and Casualty?

No. The Prometric bulletin specifies a pre-licensing course only for the Title exam. The Property and Casualty exam has no education requirement stated.

How much does the Virginia insurance exam cost?

The exam fee is $35 per examination, according to the State Corporation Commission and the Prometric bulletin. The application processing fee is separate, nonrefundable and nontransferable.

What are the minimum auto liability limits in Virginia?

For policies effective on or after January 1, 2025, Va. Code ยง 46.2-472 requires $50,000 per person and $100,000 per accident for bodily injury or death and $25,000 for property damage. Policies effective in 2022 through 2024 carried 30/60/20.

Is fingerprinting required in Virginia?

Yes for resident applicants. Va. Code ยง 38.2-1819 requires fingerprints for new resident licenses, and the Prometric bulletin directs candidates to a FieldPrint live scan site, with prints no more than 90 days old when submitted.

Can I take the Virginia insurance exam online?

Yes. Prometric offers Virginia insurance exams at test centers and by remote proctoring through ProProctor, which the Bureau of Insurance began offering June 1, 2020.

What are the continuing education requirements in Virginia?

Va. Code ยง 38.2-1866 requires 16 hours per two-year period for a single license category, including 3 hours of ethics, and 24 hours with at least 8 in each category for agents holding licenses in more than one category.

Practice Exam Questions โ€” Virginia Property & Casualty

4 state-specific questions based on official sources. Correct answer highlighted in green.

Question 1 of 4

Which company administers the Virginia insurance agent licensing exams for the Bureau of Insurance?

  • Pearson VUE
  • PSI Services
  • Prometric
  • The State Corporation Commission itself
Correct: C. The State Corporation Commission's licensing page states that Prometric administers insurance and public adjuster licensing exams in Virginia, at test centers or by remote proctoring (ProProctor). Pearson VUE no longer does.
Question 2 of 4

Which Virginia insurance license exam requires a pre-licensing study course?

  • Life, Annuities and Health
  • Property and Casualty
  • Personal Lines
  • Title
Correct: D. The Prometric Virginia License Information Bulletin specifies a pre-licensing course (16 classroom hours or equivalent) only for the Title exam. The Life, Annuities and Health, Property and Casualty and Personal Lines exams have no education requirement stated.
Question 3 of 4

How long does a passing Virginia exam result remain valid for a license application?

  • 30 calendar days
  • 90 calendar days
  • 183 calendar days
  • One year
Correct: C. The Prometric bulletin states exam results are valid for 183 calendar days, consistent with Va. Code ยง 38.2-1817(F), under which a grade becomes invalid if the license is not obtained within 183 calendar days of passing.
Question 4 of 4

After a resident applicant fails the Virginia exam three times, what must the applicant do before retaking it?

  • Pay a double exam fee
  • Complete a 16-hour course
  • Wait 30 calendar days
  • Nothing; the applicant may retake the next day
Correct: C. Va. Code ยง 38.2-1817(B) requires a resident individual applicant who fails three times to wait 30 calendar days before retaking. Before the third failure the Prometric bulletin requires a 24-hour wait before rebooking.
Free Account

Track Your Virginia P&C Exam Progress

Save scores across national and state sections and track improvement over time.

Save all exam scoresTrack improvement over timeResume in-progress examsAlways free
No credit card · No commitment · Cancel anytime
Advertisement

Your ad here. Reach thousands of licensing exam candidates daily

00:00
Loading...
Score: 0 / 0