Menu
PSI ยท DFR ยท 2026 ยท Free

Oregon Property & Casualty Insurance License Practice Exam

Oregon offers Property and Casualty (12-04), Property (12-12), Casualty (12-13) and Personal Lines (12-14) PSI exams. 70% to pass. 20 hours of prelicense training per line. 25/50/20 auto liability minimums.

Per outlineQuestions
Per examTime Limit
70%Passing Score
20 hrs / linePre-License Ed.
PSIAdministered By

Oregon Property & Casualty โ€” Study by Topic

Drill Oregon state law (Oregon Revised Statutes) or practice general P&C concepts, or take the full 150-question practice exam. Oregon requires 70% to pass. Minimum auto liability is 25/50/20.

Property Insurance

Homeowners (HO-3/HO-5), dwelling, commercial property, NFIP flood, inland marine, ACV vs. replacement cost and coinsurance.

20 questions

Casualty & Liability

Auto (PAP, 25/50/20, UM/UIM), CGL, workers' compensation, umbrella, bonds, commercial auto and surety/marine.

20 questions

Oregon State Law

Division of Financial Regulation rules, Oregon Revised Statutes producer licensing, 25/50/20 auto minimums, wildfire rules for homeowner policies and fingerprint requirements.

25 questions

P&C Concepts

Subrogation, indemnity, coinsurance, pro rata/short-rate, insurable interest at loss, certificate of insurance and waiver/estoppel.

20 questions

🌟 Full OR P&C Exam

150-question timed practice exam modeled on the PSI Oregon Property and Casualty exam. 70% to pass. 20 hours of prelicense training per line. 25/50/20 auto.

150 questions

About the Oregon Property & Casualty Insurance Exam

The Oregon Property and Casualty producer exams are administered by PSI Services LLC for the Oregon Division of Financial Regulation (DFR). Oregon offers four exams for these lines: Property and Casualty (12-04), Property (12-12), Casualty (12-13) and Personal Lines (12-14), and each one includes Oregon law. The combined exam contains all the content of the single-line exams. Applicants must be at least 18 and have a residence or place of business in Oregon (ORS 744.058 and 744.059), and DFR requires 20 hours of prelicense training for each line, so Property and Casualty together take 40 hours. Oregon offers testing at PSI test centers and online remote proctoring.

You need 70% correct to pass. The exam fee is $45 for a single-line exam and $55 for the combined Property and Casualty exam, non-refundable and valid for one year after you register. The Candidate Information Bulletin does not state question counts or time limits, which are set in PSI's Oregon content outlines, and 5 to 10 unscored experimental questions may appear on any exam. Passing candidates are fingerprinted, apply through NIPR and pay a $105 application fee.

Per outlineQuestions
Per examTime Limit
70%Passing Score
20 hrs / linePre-License Ed.
PSIAdministered By

Oregon Property & Casualty Insurance Exam Topic Breakdown

SectionQuestions / WeightKey Topics
Property and Casualty (Series 12-04)Per PSI content outlineContains all the content of the Property and Casualty single-line exams plus Oregon law; $55
Property (Series 12-12)Per PSI content outlineProperty insurance content plus Oregon law; $45
Casualty (Series 12-13)Per PSI content outlineCasualty insurance content plus Oregon law; $45
Personal Lines (Series 12-14)Per PSI content outlinePersonal property and casualty coverage content plus Oregon law; $45
OR โ€” 1.0 Insurance RegulationWeight varies by examSection shared by many Oregon exams; includes Oregon insurance law and rules
2.0 General InsuranceWeight varies by examSection shared by many Oregon exams; general insurance concepts

The PSI Candidate Information Bulletin links to a content outline for each Oregon exam, but the bulletin itself does not state question counts, time limits or section weights, so TakeZeroHQ does not publish them here. Check the current outline for your exam on the PSI Oregon page.

What Makes the Oregon Property & Casualty Exam Different

Four exams cover these lines. Property and Casualty (12-04) costs $55, while Property (12-12), Casualty (12-13) and Personal Lines (12-14) cost $45 each. Because the combined exam contains all the content of the single-line exams, it is one registration instead of two.

Personal lines is its own class. Oregon law lists a class for personal property and casualty coverage for noncommercial purposes, separate from property and casualty (ORS 744.062(1)). Personal Lines also requires its own 20-hour prelicense course.

Oregon's auto minimums are 25/50/20. The financial responsibility schedule requires $25,000 for bodily injury to or death of one person, $50,000 for two or more persons in one accident (subject to the per-person limit), and $20,000 for property damage in any one accident (ORS 806.070).

Wildfire rules for homeowner policies. An insurer that cancels, declines to renew or raises the premium on a homeowner policy for a wildfire-related reason must send a notice describing property-specific risk and mitigation actions (ORS 742.277), and may not use a state-published wildfire risk map as the basis for the action (ORS 742.278).

The certificate is valid for one year. Your prelicense Certificate of Completion expires one year to the day from the date it is issued. You may retest as often as needed within that year, but if you have not passed by then you must retake the prelicense course.

Fingerprints are required for new resident applicants. Every applicant for a resident license is fingerprinted for a criminal records check, but residents adding a line to an existing license are not. You can be fingerprinted electronically at a PSI test center on exam day for $61.25 (a $46.25 state fee plus a $15.00 PSI fee), or at a FieldprintOregon location by appointment. Prints expire six months after they are taken and ink cards are not accepted.

Sample Oregon Property & Casualty Insurance Exam Questions

1. What are the minimum financial responsibility limits for bodily injury and property damage in Oregon?

  • A. $25,000 per person, $50,000 per accident for bodily injury, and $20,000 for property damage
  • B. $25,000 per person, $50,000 per accident for bodily injury, and $25,000 for property damage
  • C. $15,000 per person, $30,000 per accident and $10,000 for property damage
  • D. $50,000 per person, $100,000 per accident and $20,000 for property damage
Correct: A. Oregon Revised Statutes (ORS) 806.070(2) sets the minimum at $25,000 for bodily injury to or death of one person in any one accident, $50,000 for two or more persons in one accident, subject to the $25,000 per-person limit, and $20,000 for injury to or destruction of the property of others in any one accident.

2. An Oregon insurer wants to decline to renew a homeowner policy. May it base that decision on a wildfire risk map published by an agency of the state?

  • A. No; an insurer may not use a state-published wildfire risk map as the basis for canceling, declining to renew or raising the premium
  • B. Yes, if the property is inside a mapped area
  • C. Yes, but only with 5 days' notice
  • D. Yes, if the policy is a commercial policy
Correct: A. Oregon Revised Statutes (ORS) 742.278 prohibits an insurance company from using a map published by an agency of this state that identifies areas of wildfire risk as the basis for canceling or declining to renew a homeowner policy, or for increasing a homeowner premium. ORS 742.277 separately requires a notice when wildfire risk is a reason for such action.

3. Under ORS 744.062, which class of authority covers personal property and casualty coverage for noncommercial purposes?

  • A. Personal lines, a class separate from property and casualty
  • B. Limited class credit insurance
  • C. Variable life insurance
  • D. Title insurance
Correct: A. Oregon Revised Statutes (ORS) 744.062(1) lists the classes in which an insurance producer may be licensed, including property insurance, casualty insurance and, separately, personal property and casualty coverage for noncommercial purposes. In Oregon the Personal Lines exam (12-14) and its own 20-hour prelicense course apply to that class.

Study Tips for the Oregon Property & Casualty Exam

Pull up the PSI content outline for your exact exam before you study. Sections 1.0 Insurance Regulation and 2.0 General Insurance are shared across many Oregon exams, and each Property, Casualty, Personal Lines or combined exam includes Oregon law.

If you want both lines, the combined Property and Casualty exam costs $55 and contains everything on the single-line exams. Studying for it covers both, so plan your prelicense hours (20 per line) around it.

Memorize the Oregon numbers: 25/50/20 minimum liability limits, the state wildfire-map prohibition for homeowner policies, and the two-year license term with 24 CE hours.

Also licensing in life or health? See our Oregon Life & Health practice exam. National content is in our property and casualty practice exam, and our insurance license exam study guide covers exam strategy.

How to Get Your Oregon Property & Casualty Insurance License

There are four steps to get your Oregon insurance producer license for the Property and Casualty lines.

Steps to Get Your Oregon Property & Casualty Insurance License

StepWhat to Do
1. Prelicense TrainingComplete 20 hours of prelicense training for each line, Property and Casualty (and Personal Lines if you want it), with a school that is approved by DFR. You receive a Certificate of Completion that is valid for one year and that you bring to the exam.
2. Schedule and Pass the ExamRegister with PSI at test-takers.psiexams.com/orins for Property and Casualty, Property, Casualty or Personal Lines, and pay $45 or $55. Take it at a test center or online with remote proctoring and score at least 70%.
3. Get FingerprintedAuthorize a criminal records check at a PSI test center (walk-ins welcome, $61.25) or through FieldprintOregon by appointment. Indicate the prints are for insurance licensing.
4. Apply and MaintainSubmit an electronic application through NIPR with the $105 application fee plus a processing fee. Renew every two years in your birth month for $60 and complete 24 hours of CE, including 3 on ethics and 3 on Oregon law.

Oregon Property & Casualty Insurance License Requirements at a Glance

RequirementDetail
ExamsProperty and Casualty (12-04); Property (12-12); Casualty (12-13); Personal Lines (12-14), each including Oregon law
Questions and timeSet in PSI's Oregon content outlines; not stated in the bulletin
Passing score70% correct
Pre-license education20 hours per line, certificate valid for one year
FingerprintingRequired for new resident applicants; $61.25 at PSI; not required to add a line
Exam providerPSI Services LLC (test center or remote proctored)
Exam fee$45 single line; $55 combined Property and Casualty; valid one year
Auto liability minimums$25,000 / $50,000 / $20,000 (ORS 806.070)
Application fee$105 through NIPR, plus a processing fee
Minimum age18 (ORS 744.059)
RetakesUnlimited within the one-year eligibility period; no retest on the same day
License termTwo years, expiring in the birth month; renewal $60 on time, $120 late
Continuing education24 hours per renewal: 3 ethics, 3 Oregon law, no more than 4 agency management
Licensing authorityOregon Division of Financial Regulation

Verified against the Oregon Division of Financial Regulation pages, the PSI Candidate Information Bulletin (copyright August 2025), and Oregon Revised Statutes chapters 742, 744 and 806. Fees and rules change; confirm current figures with DFR and PSI before you apply.

Our free Oregon Property & Casualty practice exam covers general and Oregon content. You can also try the national property and casualty practice exam or the insurance license exam study guide.

Interested in where this license leads? See our guide to insurance careers โ€” including salary ranges, how to break in, and what the career looks like day to day.

Frequently Asked Questions โ€” Oregon Property & Casualty Insurance Exam

Which exams does Oregon offer for Property and Casualty?

PSI offers Property and Casualty (12-04), Property (12-12), Casualty (12-13) and Personal Lines (12-14). The combined exam contains all the content of the single-line exams, and each exam includes Oregon law.

How many questions are on the Oregon Property and Casualty exam?

The PSI Candidate Information Bulletin does not state question counts or time limits. They are set in the content outline for each exam, which PSI links from the bulletin. A few unscored experimental questions (5 to 10) may appear.

What is the passing score for the Oregon insurance exam?

70% correct for the producer exams. Failed candidates receive a diagnostic report showing strengths and weaknesses by exam section.

How many prelicense hours does Oregon require?

20 hours for each line of authority, so 40 hours for Property and Casualty together. The Certificate of Completion expires one year to the day from issue.

Does Oregon require fingerprints for an insurance license?

Yes for new resident applicants. You can be fingerprinted at a PSI test center for $61.25 or through FieldprintOregon. Residents adding a line to an existing license do not need new fingerprints.

What are Oregon's minimum auto liability limits?

ORS 806.070 sets $25,000 for injury to or death of one person, $50,000 for two or more persons in one accident, and $20,000 for property damage.

Can I take the Oregon exam online?

Yes. Oregon offers testing at PSI test centers and online remote proctoring. Remote exams allow no breaks or scratch paper and require a compatibility check.

What are the continuing education requirements in Oregon?

Resident individuals complete 24 hours every two years, including at least 3 on ethics and 3 on Oregon law, with no more than 4 hours in agency management and no more than 8 hours of credit in a day.

Practice Exam Questions โ€” Oregon Property & Casualty

4 state-specific questions based on official sources. Correct answer highlighted in green.

Question 1 of 4

Who administers the Oregon Property and Casualty producer exams?

  • PSI Services LLC
  • Pearson VUE
  • Prometric
  • The Division of Financial Regulation itself
Correct: A. The Division of Financial Regulation and the PSI Candidate Information Bulletin identify PSI Services LLC as the exam vendor. Passing requires 70% correct.
Question 2 of 4

How many hours of prelicense training does Oregon require for each Property or Casualty line?

  • 20 hours
  • 10 hours
  • 40 hours
  • None
Correct: A. The Division of Financial Regulation requires 20 hours of prelicense training per line of authority, and the Certificate of Completion expires one year to the day from issue.
Question 3 of 4

How much does the combined Oregon Property and Casualty exam (12-04) cost?

  • $55
  • $45
  • $65
  • $105
Correct: A. The PSI bulletin lists $55 for the combined Property and Casualty exam and $45 for each single-line exam, including Personal Lines. The $105 figure is the initial application fee through NIPR.
Question 4 of 4

What is Oregon's minimum property damage liability limit under ORS 806.070?

  • $20,000
  • $10,000
  • $25,000
  • $50,000
Correct: A. ORS 806.070(2) sets $25,000 for one person's bodily injury, $50,000 for two or more persons, and $20,000 for property damage in any one accident.
Free Account

Track Your Oregon P&C Exam Progress

Save scores, track improvement, and resume in-progress exams across all sections.

Save all exam scoresTrack improvement over timeResume in-progress examsAlways free
No credit card · No commitment · Cancel anytime
Advertisement

Your ad here. Reach thousands of licensing exam candidates daily

00:00
Loading...
Score: 0 / 0