Menu
Prometric ยท UDOI ยท 2026 ยท Free

Utah Property & Casualty Insurance License Practice Exam

Combined exam (Series 17-04): 150 questions, 2.5 hours, $44. Utah has no pre-licensing requirement, Prometric does not publish a passing score, and auto minimums are 30/65/25 for policies issued or renewed from 2025.

150Questions (Combined 17-04)
2 hrs 30 minTime Limit
Not publishedPassing Score
NonePre-License Ed.
PrometricAdministered By

Utah Property & Casualty โ€” Study by Topic

Drill Utah insurance law (Title 31A) or practice general property and casualty concepts. The real combined exam has 150 questions in 2.5 hours, with no separate state section and no published passing score.

Property Insurance

Homeowners, dwelling, commercial property, businessowners, inland marine, NFIP flood, ACV vs. replacement cost, coinsurance.

20 questions

Casualty & Liability

Auto (personal auto policy, 30/65/25 minimum liability limits from 2025, PIP), CGL, workers compensation, umbrella, bonds, commercial auto.

20 questions

Utah State Law

Utah Insurance Code (Title 31A), no pre-licensing requirement, fingerprinting at Prometric after passing, 30/65/25 auto limits from 2025, $3,000 PIP medical minimum, NFIP flood training, 24 CE hours.

25 questions

P&C Concepts

Subrogation, indemnity, coinsurance, pro rata/short-rate, insurable interest at loss, waiver and estoppel, personal injury protection basics.

20 questions

🌟 Full UT P&C Exam

100-question timed practice exam modeled on the Prometric Utah combined Property and Casualty exam (Series 17-04), which allows 150 minutes. Prometric does not publish a passing score.

100 questions

About the Utah Property & Casualty Insurance Exam

Utah producer exams are administered by Prometric for the Utah Insurance Department. Utah offers a combined Property and Casualty exam (Series 17-04) and separate Property (17-22), Casualty (17-23) and Personal Lines (17-20) exams. Utah has no pre-licensing requirement: you register with Prometric, pass the exam, and then apply and be fingerprinted at the test center. You can test at a Prometric test center or by remote proctoring (ProProctor).

The combined 17-04 exam has 150 questions and a 2.5-hour time limit, and the Prometric bulletin lists a $44 exam fee. The Property, Casualty and Personal Lines exams each have 100 questions, 2 hours and a $32 fee. The bulletin does not publish a passing score, says an exam may include unscored experimental questions, and reports your overall score, pass/fail result and the percentage correct in each major section. You must submit your application within 90 days of passing.

150Questions (Combined 17-04)
2 hrs 30 minTime Limit
Not publishedPassing Score
NonePre-License Ed.
PrometricAdministered By

Utah Property & Casualty Insurance Exam Topic Breakdown

SectionQuestions / WeightKey Topics
1.0 Insurance Regulation11%Licensing, state regulation, federal regulation
2.0 General Insurance10%Concepts, insurers, producer roles, contracts
3.0 Property and Casualty Insurance Basics12%Principles, policy structure, common provisions, Utah laws, regulations and required provisions
4.0 Dwelling Policy4%Coverage forms, perils, property coverages, exclusions, conditions, endorsements, personal liability
5.0 Homeowners Policy12%Coverage forms, definitions, property and liability sections, perils, exclusions, conditions, endorsements
6.0 Auto Insurance13%Auto laws, personal auto policy, commercial auto
7.0 Commercial Package Policy (CPP)11%Policy components, general liability, commercial property, crime, inland marine, equipment breakdown, farm coverage
8.0 Businessowners Policy8%Purpose, property and liability sections, common conditions, endorsements
9.0 Workers Compensation Insurance11%Workers compensation laws, the policy, premium calculation, other coverage sources, rating organizations
10.0 Other Coverages and Options8%Umbrella and excess, specialty liability, surplus lines, surety, aviation, ocean marine, other policies

Weights are percentages from the Series 17-04 content outline in the Prometric Utah License Information Bulletin (outline effective January 1, 2020; bulletin effective September 25, 2025). The bulletin gives only the 150-question total, not question counts per section, and says its exams contain sections on Utah statutes without listing them.

What Makes the Utah Property & Casualty Exam Different

Combined or separate exams. Utah lets you test on the combined Property and Casualty exam (17-04, 150 questions, 2.5 hours, $44) or on Property (17-22), Casualty (17-23) or Personal Lines (17-20), each 100 questions, 2 hours and $32. The bulletin does not describe a separate Utah section with its own passing mark.

No published passing score. Prometric's bulletin does not state a passing score. Your report shows your overall grade, the percentage correct and pass/fail, plus the percentage correct in each major section, and the bulletin says those section scores are meant to guide study if you need to retest.

Auto minimums changed in 2025. For policies issued or renewed on or after January 1, 2025, Utah Code ยง 31A-22-304(2) sets minimum liability limits of $30,000 per person and $65,000 per accident for bodily injury and $25,000 for property damage (or $90,000 combined). Policies issued or renewed on or before December 31, 2024 carried 25/65/15.

Personal injury protection. Utah's PIP coverage is a no-fault benefit. Utah Code ยง 31A-22-307(1) lists minimum benefits including medical expenses of not less than $3,000 per person, lost income of the lesser of $250 per week or 85% of lost gross income for up to 52 weeks, and funeral expenses up to $1,500 per person.

Flood training. A resident producer who sells National Flood Insurance Program coverage must first complete three hours of flood training under Utah Code ยง 31A-23a-203(3). The course can count toward continuing education.

No pre-licensing, fingerprints after the exam. The Department states that Utah has no pre-licensing requirements. Resident applicants are fingerprinted by live scan at a Prometric test center after passing ($32 FBI/BCI fee plus a $6 Prometric fee), and must apply within 90 days of passing.

Sample Utah Property & Casualty Insurance Exam Questions

1. For a Utah private passenger auto policy issued or renewed on or after January 1, 2025, what are the minimum liability limits for bodily injury per person, bodily injury per accident, and property damage?

  • A. $25,000 / $65,000 / $15,000
  • B. $30,000 / $65,000 / $25,000
  • C. $30,000 / $60,000 / $25,000
  • D. $50,000 / $100,000 / $25,000
Correct: B. Utah Code ยง 31A-22-304(2) sets the minimum limits for policies issued or renewed on or after January 1, 2025 at $30,000 per person, $65,000 per accident for two or more persons and $25,000 for property damage, or $90,000 combined in any one accident. The $25,000 / $65,000 / $15,000 limits in subsection (1) apply to policies issued or renewed on or before December 31, 2024.

2. Under Utah's personal injury protection statute, what is the minimum amount of medical expense coverage per person that an auto policy must provide?

  • A. $1,500
  • B. $3,000
  • C. $5,000
  • D. $10,000
Correct: B. Utah Code ยง 31A-22-307(1)(a) requires personal injury protection to cover the reasonable value of necessary medical, surgical, X-ray, dental, rehabilitation, ambulance, hospital and nursing services up to the minimum required coverage of not less than $3,000 per person. The $1,500 figure is the funeral, burial and cremation limit in subsection (1)(c).

3. Before a resident Utah producer may sell National Flood Insurance Program coverage, how many hours of flood insurance training must the producer complete?

  • A. One hour
  • B. Three hours
  • C. Eight hours
  • D. Twelve hours
Correct: B. Utah Code ยง 31A-23a-203(3)(a) requires a resident producer who sells NFIP flood coverage to complete three hours of flood training first. Under subsections (3)(b) and (c) the course can count toward continuing education, but it is not a renewal requirement.

Study Tips for the Utah Property & Casualty Exam

Auto Insurance (13%), Homeowners (12%) and Property and Casualty Basics (12%) are the largest sections of the combined exam. Put them first, then cover Commercial Package (11%), Workers Compensation (11%) and Insurance Regulation (11%).

Insurance Regulation and General Insurance together are 21%, and the bulletin says the exams contain sections on Utah statutes. Know the current auto minimums (30/65/25 for policies issued or renewed from 2025, 25/65/15 before) and the $3,000 PIP medical minimum.

Because no passing score is published, aim for strong results in every section rather than a minimum. Use the section percentages on your score report to focus a retake, remember each retake needs a new fee, and apply within 90 days of passing.

Also licensing in life or health? See our Utah Life & Health practice exam. National content is in our property and casualty practice exam, and our insurance license exam study guide covers exam strategy.

How to Get Your Utah Property & Casualty Insurance License

There are four steps to get your Utah insurance producer license for the Property and Casualty lines.

Steps to Get Your Utah Property & Casualty Insurance License

StepWhat to Do
1. PrepareUtah has no pre-licensing requirement, and the Insurance Department does not provide or approve study materials. Use the Prometric content outline for Series 17-04, or the Property, Casualty or Personal Lines outlines if you want a single exam.
2. Register and ScheduleRegister with Prometric and pay the exam fee ($44 for the combined 17-04 exam, $32 for a single exam). Schedule at a Prometric test center or by remote proctoring. Your name must match your government ID exactly.
3. Pass the ExamThe combined exam has 150 questions and a 2.5-hour limit. Prometric does not publish a passing score, and your report shows your overall result and the percentage correct by section.
4. Apply and Be FingerprintedAfter passing, apply at a Prometric kiosk or through Sircon or NIPR within 90 days, pay the $32 FBI/BCI fee and the $6 Prometric fee, and be fingerprinted at the test center. Licenses last two years and renewal requires 24 hours of CE.

Utah Property & Casualty Insurance License Requirements at a Glance

RequirementDetail
ExamsCombined Property and Casualty (17-04), Property (17-22), Casualty (17-23) or Personal Lines (17-20), all from Prometric
Combined exam150 questions, 2.5 hours, $44 exam fee
Single exams100 questions, 2 hours, $32 exam fee each
Passing scoreNot stated in the Prometric bulletin; the report shows overall and section percentages
Pre-license educationNone required; the Department does not review study materials
Auto liability minimums$30,000 / $65,000 / $25,000 for policies issued or renewed on or after January 1, 2025 (Utah Code ยง 31A-22-304)
PIP medical minimumNot less than $3,000 per person (Utah Code ยง 31A-22-307)
FingerprintingLive scan at a Prometric test center after passing; $32 FBI/BCI fee plus $6 Prometric fee
Apply after passingWithin 90 days, at a Prometric kiosk or through Sircon or NIPR
Testing methodPrometric test center or remote proctoring (ProProctor); Spanish exams are available
License term and CETwo years; 24 CE hours with at least 3 in ethics and 12 classroom or equivalent
Licensing authorityUtah Insurance Department

Verified against the Prometric Utah License Information Bulletin (effective September 25, 2025), the Utah Insurance Department producer exam and continuing education pages, and Utah Code Title 31A. Fees and requirements change; confirm current figures with the Department and Prometric before you apply.

Our free Utah Property & Casualty practice exam covers general insurance and Utah content. You can also try the national property and casualty practice exam or the insurance license exam study guide.

Interested in where this license leads? See our guide to insurance careers โ€” including salary ranges, how to break in, and what the career looks like day to day.

Frequently Asked Questions โ€” Utah Property & Casualty Insurance Exam

How many questions are on the Utah Property and Casualty exam?

The combined Property and Casualty exam (Series 17-04) has 150 questions and a 2.5-hour time limit. The separate Property, Casualty and Personal Lines exams have 100 questions and 2 hours each. The bulletin says exams may include unscored experimental questions.

What is the passing score for the Utah insurance exam?

The Prometric Utah bulletin does not state a passing score. Your score report shows your overall percentage, grade and pass/fail result, plus the percentage correct in each major section.

Does Utah require pre-licensing education?

No. The Utah Insurance Department states that Utah has no pre-licensing requirements for licensure, and it does not offer or approve study materials.

How much does the Utah insurance exam cost?

The Prometric bulletin lists $44 for the combined Property and Casualty exam and $32 for a single Property, Casualty or Personal Lines exam. Fingerprinting adds a $32 FBI/BCI fee and a $6 Prometric fee, and all fees are non-refundable.

What are the minimum auto liability limits in Utah?

For policies issued or renewed on or after January 1, 2025, Utah Code ยง 31A-22-304(2) requires $30,000 per person, $65,000 per accident for bodily injury and $25,000 for property damage. Policies issued or renewed on or before December 31, 2024 were 25/65/15.

Is fingerprinting required in Utah and when is it done?

Yes for initial resident licensees. You are fingerprinted by live scan at a Prometric test center after you pass the exam. Existing resident licensees adding a line of authority do not need to be fingerprinted again.

What are the continuing education requirements in Utah?

Non-title resident producers complete 24 hours of approved CE with at least 3 hours of ethics, 12 hours classroom or classroom equivalent and no more than 12 hours from insurer-provided courses. The license period is two years.

How long do I have to apply after passing the Utah exam?

The Prometric bulletin says the application and fee must be submitted within 90 days of passing. After 90 days you must retake the exam.

Practice Exam Questions โ€” Utah Property & Casualty

4 state-specific questions based on official sources. Correct answer highlighted in green.

Question 1 of 4

Which company administers the Utah insurance producer licensing exams?

  • Pearson VUE
  • PSI Services
  • Prometric
  • The Utah Insurance Department directly
Correct: C. The Utah Insurance Department's exam page states that Prometric administers all Utah producer exams, at a Prometric test center or by remote proctoring (ProProctor).
Question 2 of 4

How many hours of pre-licensing education does Utah require for a resident producer license?

  • None
  • 20 hours
  • 40 hours
  • 50 hours
Correct: A. The Utah Insurance Department states that Utah has no pre-licensing requirements for licensure, and it does not offer or approve study materials.
Question 3 of 4

When and where are resident applicants fingerprinted in Utah?

  • By mail before the exam, using an ink card
  • At a Prometric test center after passing the exam
  • At a local police station before registering for the exam
  • Fingerprinting is not required
Correct: B. Resident applicants are fingerprinted by live scan at a Prometric test center after passing the exam. The fees are a $32 FBI/BCI fee ($12 FBI and $20 BCI) plus a $6 Prometric processing fee. An applicant who does not pass is not fingerprinted.
Question 4 of 4

After passing the Prometric exam, how long do you have to submit your Utah license application and fee?

  • 30 days
  • 90 days
  • 183 days
  • One year
Correct: B. The Prometric Utah License Information Bulletin says the application and fee must be submitted within 90 days of passing. After 90 days the exam must be retaken.
Free Account

Track Your Utah P&C Exam Progress

Save scores, track improvement, and resume in-progress exams across all sections.

Save all exam scoresTrack improvement over timeResume in-progress examsAlways free
No credit card · No commitment · Cancel anytime
Advertisement

Your ad here. Reach thousands of licensing exam candidates daily

00:00
Loading...
Score: 0 / 0