Oregon Life, Accident & Health Insurance License Practice Exam
Oregon offers Life (12-01), Health (12-02) and combined Life and Health (12-03) PSI exams. 70% to pass. 20 hours of prelicense training per line. Fingerprints required for new resident applicants.
Oregon Life, Accident & Health โ Study by Topic
Drill Oregon state law (Oregon Revised Statutes) or practice general L&H concepts, or take the full 150-question practice exam. Oregon requires 70% to pass.
Life Insurance
Term, whole life, universal life, variable, annuities, riders, nonforfeiture, settlement options and beneficiaries.
Health & Accident
Individual/group health, disability income, LTC (8-hr initial + 4-hr refresher each period), Medicare supplement (AโN), COBRA, ACA, HMOs, dental.
Oregon State Law
Division of Financial Regulation rules, Oregon Revised Statutes producer licensing, prelicense and fingerprint rules, and continuing education.
Policy Provisions
Contract law, insurable interest, grace period, incontestability, entire contract, misstatement of age, taxation, qualified plans and HSA/HRA.
🌟 Full OR L&H Exam
150-question timed practice exam modeled on the PSI Oregon Life and Health exam. 70% to pass. 20 hours of prelicense training per line.
About the Oregon Life & Health Insurance Exam
The Oregon Life and Health producer exams are administered by PSI Services LLC for the Oregon Division of Financial Regulation (DFR). Oregon offers three exams for these lines: Life (12-01), Health (12-02) and the combined Life and Health (12-03), and each one includes Oregon law. The combined exam contains all the content of the single-line exams. Applicants must be at least 18 and have a residence or place of business in Oregon (ORS 744.058 and 744.059), and DFR requires 20 hours of prelicense training for each line, so Life and Health together take 40 hours. Oregon offers testing at PSI test centers and online remote proctoring.
You need 70% correct to pass. The exam fee is $45 for a single-line exam and $55 for the combined Life and Health exam, non-refundable and valid for one year after you register. The Candidate Information Bulletin does not state question counts or time limits, which are set in PSI's Oregon content outlines, and 5 to 10 unscored experimental questions may appear on any exam. Passing candidates are fingerprinted, apply through NIPR and pay a $105 application fee.
Oregon Life & Health Insurance Exam Topic Breakdown
| Section | Questions / Weight | Key Topics |
|---|---|---|
| Life (Series 12-01) | Per PSI content outline | Life insurance content plus Oregon law; $45 |
| Health (Series 12-02) | Per PSI content outline | Health insurance content plus Oregon law; $45 |
| Life and Health (Series 12-03) | Per PSI content outline | Contains all the content of the Life and Health single-line exams plus Oregon law; $55 |
| OR โ 1.0 Insurance Regulation | Weight varies by exam | Section shared by many Oregon exams; includes Oregon insurance law and rules |
| 2.0 General Insurance | Weight varies by exam | Section shared by many Oregon exams; general insurance concepts |
The PSI Candidate Information Bulletin links to a content outline for each Oregon exam, but the bulletin itself does not state question counts, time limits or section weights, so TakeZeroHQ does not publish them here. Check the current outline for your exam on the PSI Oregon page.
What Makes the Oregon Life & Health Exam Different
Three exams cover these lines. Life (12-01) and Health (12-02) cost $45 each, and the combined Life and Health exam (12-03) costs $55. Because the combined exam contains all the content of the single-line exams, it is one registration instead of two.
Prelicense training is 20 hours per line. Life and Health each need a 20-hour course. Holders of the CLU designation are exempt for Life and Health, and a person who moves to Oregon and applies within 90 days of establishing residence needs no exam or prelicense training for lines held before (ORS 744.067).
The certificate is valid for one year. Your prelicense Certificate of Completion expires one year to the day from the date it is issued. You may retest as often as needed within that year, but if you have not passed by then you must retake the prelicense course.
Fingerprints are required for new resident applicants. Every applicant for a resident license is fingerprinted for a criminal records check, but residents adding a line to an existing license are not. You can be fingerprinted electronically at a PSI test center on exam day for $61.25 (a $46.25 state fee plus a $15.00 PSI fee), or at a FieldprintOregon location by appointment. Prints expire six months after they are taken and ink cards are not accepted.
Life policy rules tested in Oregon. Individual life policies must allow a grace period of 30 days, or at the insurer's option one month of not less than 30 days (ORS 743.165), and become incontestable after two years in force during the insured's lifetime, except for nonpayment of premiums (ORS 743.168).
One license, all lines. All lines are held on one license. Do not submit a second application before the first license is issued, because it will fail. Pass all exams and apply for all lines together, or add lines later through NIPR with additional fees but no new background check.
Sample Oregon Life & Health Insurance Exam Questions
1. What grace period must an Oregon individual life insurance policy allow for payment of a premium after the first?
2. After how long is an Oregon individual life insurance policy incontestable, apart from nonpayment of premiums?
3. A producer moves to Oregon after holding a resident license in another state. Within how many days of establishing Oregon residence must the person apply to be exempt from the exam and prelicense requirements for the lines previously held?
Study Tips for the Oregon Life & Health Exam
Pull up the PSI content outline for your exact exam before you study. Sections 1.0 Insurance Regulation and 2.0 General Insurance are shared across many Oregon exams, and each Life, Health or combined exam includes Oregon law.
If you want both lines, the combined Life and Health exam costs $55 and contains everything on the single-line exams. Studying for it covers both, so plan your prelicense hours (20 per line) around it.
Plan the fingerprints: PSI will take them on exam day for $61.25, they can take up to four weeks to process, and they expire after six months, so do not test long before you are ready to apply.
Also licensing in property or casualty? See our Oregon Property & Casualty practice exam. National content is in our life and health practice exam, and our insurance license exam study guide covers exam strategy.
How to Get Your Oregon Life & Health Insurance License
There are four steps to get your Oregon insurance producer license for the Life and Health lines.
Steps to Get Your Oregon Life & Health Insurance License
| Step | What to Do |
|---|---|
| 1. Prelicense Training | Complete 20 hours of prelicense training for each line, Life and Health, with a school that is approved by DFR. You receive a Certificate of Completion that is valid for one year and that you bring to the exam. |
| 2. Schedule and Pass the Exam | Register with PSI at test-takers.psiexams.com/orins for Life, Health or the combined exam, and pay $45 or $55. Take it at a test center or online with remote proctoring and score at least 70%. |
| 3. Get Fingerprinted | Authorize a criminal records check at a PSI test center (walk-ins welcome, $61.25) or through FieldprintOregon by appointment. Indicate the prints are for insurance licensing. |
| 4. Apply and Maintain | Submit an electronic application through NIPR with the $105 application fee plus a processing fee. Renew every two years in your birth month for $60 and complete 24 hours of CE, including 3 on ethics and 3 on Oregon law. |
Oregon Life & Health Insurance License Requirements at a Glance
| Requirement | Detail |
|---|---|
| Exams | Life (12-01); Health (12-02); Life and Health (12-03), each including Oregon law |
| Questions and time | Set in PSI's Oregon content outlines; not stated in the bulletin |
| Passing score | 70% correct |
| Pre-license education | 20 hours per line, certificate valid for one year |
| Fingerprinting | Required for new resident applicants; $61.25 at PSI; not required to add a line |
| Exam provider | PSI Services LLC (test center or remote proctored) |
| Exam fee | $45 single line; $55 combined Life and Health; valid one year |
| Application fee | $105 through NIPR, plus a processing fee |
| Minimum age | 18 (ORS 744.059) |
| Retakes | Unlimited within the one-year eligibility period; no retest on the same day |
| License term | Two years, expiring in the birth month; renewal $60 on time, $120 late |
| Continuing education | 24 hours per renewal: 3 ethics, 3 Oregon law, no more than 4 agency management |
| Licensing authority | Oregon Division of Financial Regulation |
Verified against the Oregon Division of Financial Regulation pages, the PSI Candidate Information Bulletin (copyright August 2025), and Oregon Revised Statutes chapters 743 and 744. Fees and rules change; confirm current figures with DFR and PSI before you apply.
Our free Oregon Life & Health practice exam covers general and Oregon content. You can also try the national life and health practice exam or the insurance license exam study guide.
Interested in where this license leads? See our guide to insurance careers โ including salary ranges, how to break in, and what the career looks like day to day.
Frequently Asked Questions โ Oregon Life & Health Insurance Exam
Which exams does Oregon offer for Life and Health?
PSI offers Life (12-01), Health (12-02) and Life and Health (12-03). The combined exam contains all the content of the single-line exams, and each exam includes Oregon law.
How many questions are on the Oregon Life and Health exams?
The PSI Candidate Information Bulletin does not state question counts or time limits. They are set in the content outline for each exam, which PSI links from the bulletin. A few unscored experimental questions (5 to 10) may appear.
What is the passing score for the Oregon insurance exam?
70% correct for the producer exams. Failed candidates receive a diagnostic report showing strengths and weaknesses by exam section.
How many prelicense hours does Oregon require?
20 hours for each line of authority, so 40 hours for Life and Health together. The Certificate of Completion expires one year to the day from issue.
Does Oregon require fingerprints for an insurance license?
Yes for new resident applicants. You can be fingerprinted at a PSI test center for $61.25 or through FieldprintOregon. Residents adding a line to an existing license do not need new fingerprints.
How much does the Oregon insurance exam cost?
$45 for a single-line exam and $55 for the combined Life and Health exam. The initial application is $105 through NIPR plus a processing fee.
Can I take the Oregon exam online?
Yes. Oregon offers testing at PSI test centers and online remote proctoring. Remote exams allow no breaks or scratch paper and require a compatibility check.
What are the continuing education requirements in Oregon?
Resident individuals complete 24 hours every two years, including at least 3 on ethics and 3 on Oregon law, with no more than 4 hours in agency management and no more than 8 hours of credit in a day.
Practice Exam Questions โ Oregon Life & Health
4 state-specific questions based on official sources. Correct answer highlighted in green.
Who administers the Oregon Life and Health producer exams?
- PSI Services LLC
- Pearson VUE
- Prometric
- The Division of Financial Regulation itself
How many hours of prelicense training does Oregon require for each Life or Health line?
- 20 hours
- 10 hours
- 40 hours
- None
How much does the combined Oregon Life and Health exam (12-03) cost?
- $55
- $45
- $65
- $105
Which applicants are NOT required to submit new fingerprints in Oregon?
- Resident licensees adding a line of authority to an existing license
- All new resident applicants
- Applicants who pass on the first attempt
- Applicants with a CLU designation