Menu
Prometric ยท UDOI ยท 2026 ยท Free

Utah Life, Accident & Health Insurance License Practice Exam

Combined exam (Series 17-03): 150 questions, 2.5 hours, $44. Utah has no pre-licensing requirement, Prometric does not publish a passing score, and you are fingerprinted at a Prometric test center after passing.

150Questions (Combined 17-03)
2 hrs 30 minTime Limit
Not publishedPassing Score
NonePre-License Ed.
PrometricAdministered By

Utah Life, Accident & Health โ€” Study by Topic

Drill Utah insurance law (Title 31A) or practice general life and health concepts. The real combined exam has 150 questions in 2.5 hours, with no separate state section and no published passing score.

Life Insurance

Term, whole life, flexible premium and specialized policies, annuities, riders, nonforfeiture and settlement options, beneficiaries, life settlements.

20 questions

Health & Accident

Individual and group health, disability income, medical plans, HSAs/HRAs, Medicare and Medicare supplements, long-term care, dental.

20 questions

Utah State Law

Utah Insurance Code (Title 31A), no pre-licensing requirement, fingerprinting at Prometric after passing, apply within 90 days of passing, two-year license, 24 CE hours with 3 on ethics.

25 questions

Policy Provisions

Contract law, insurable interest, grace period, incontestability, entire contract, misstatement of age, taxation, qualified plans, HSA/HRA, Utah Code Title 31A provisions.

20 questions

🌟 Full UT L&H Exam

100-question timed practice exam modeled on the Prometric Utah combined Life, Accident and Health exam (Series 17-03), which allows 150 minutes. Prometric does not publish a passing score.

100 questions

About the Utah Life & Health Insurance Exam

Utah producer exams are administered by Prometric for the Utah Insurance Department. Utah offers a Life exam (Series 17-01), an Accident and Health exam (17-02) and a combined Life, Accident and Health exam (17-03). Utah has no pre-licensing requirement: you register with Prometric, pass the exam, and then apply and be fingerprinted at the test center. You can test at a Prometric test center or by remote proctoring (ProProctor).

The combined 17-03 exam has 150 questions and a 2.5-hour time limit, and the Prometric bulletin lists a $44 exam fee. The single-line Life and Accident and Health exams each have 100 questions, 2 hours and a $32 fee. The bulletin does not publish a passing score, says an exam may include unscored experimental questions, and reports your overall score, pass/fail result and the percentage correct in each major section. You must submit your application within 90 days of passing.

150Questions (Combined 17-03)
2 hrs 30 minTime Limit
Not publishedPassing Score
NonePre-License Ed.
PrometricAdministered By

Utah Life & Health Insurance Exam Topic Breakdown

SectionQuestions / WeightKey Topics
1.0 Insurance Regulation7%Licensing rules, state regulation, federal regulation
2.0 General Insurance5%Core concepts, types of insurers, producer roles and agency rules, contracts
3.0 Life Insurance Basics7%Insurable interest, personal and business uses of life insurance, life settlements, coverage amounts, policy classes, premiums, licensee duties, underwriting
4.0 Life Insurance Policies7%Term, whole life, flexible premium, specialized and group life policies
5.0 Policy Provisions, Options and Riders9%Standard provisions, beneficiaries, settlement and nonforfeiture options, loans and withdrawals, dividends, disability riders, accelerated benefits, death-benefit riders
6.0 Annuities9%Principles, immediate vs. deferred annuities, payout options, products, uses
7.0 Federal Tax Considerations for Life Insurance and Annuities7%Taxation of life insurance and annuities, modified endowment contracts, IRAs, rollovers, 1035 exchanges
8.0 Qualified Plans4%General requirements, federal tax rules, plan types and purchasers
9.0 Accident and Health Insurance Basics12%Perils and losses, policy classes, limited policies, exclusions, licensee duties, underwriting, replacement rules, required provisions
10.0 Disability Income and Related Insurance2%Benefit qualification, individual and group disability income, Social Security disability
11.0 Medical Plans10%Plan concepts, provider types, cost containment, Utah and HIPAA requirements, HSAs/HRAs, HIPUtah, federal health reform
12.0 Group Accident and Health Insurance10%Group characteristics, eligible groups, marketing, employer and small-employer plans, group regulation, funding
13.0 Dental Insurance1%Dental treatment categories, indemnity plans, employer group dental
14.0 Medicare4%Standard policies, Medicare supplements, other options, MIPPA
15.0 Long-Term Care Insurance4%Long-term care insurance
16.0 Federal Tax Considerations for Accident and Health Insurance2%Federal taxation of accident and health coverage

Weights are percentages from the Series 17-03 content outline in the Prometric Utah License Information Bulletin (outline effective January 1, 2020; bulletin effective September 25, 2025). The bulletin gives only the 150-question total, not question counts per section, and says its exams contain sections on Utah statutes without listing them.

What Makes the Utah Life & Health Exam Different

Separate or combined exams. Utah lets you test for Life (17-01, 100 questions, 2 hours, $32), Accident and Health (17-02, 100 questions, 2 hours, $32) or both on the combined 17-03 exam (150 questions, 2.5 hours, $44). Unlike states with separate state-law portions, the bulletin does not describe a separate Utah section with its own passing mark.

No published passing score. Prometric's bulletin does not state a passing score. Your report shows your overall grade, the percentage correct and pass/fail, plus the percentage correct in each major section, and the bulletin says those section scores are meant to guide study if you need to retest.

No pre-licensing, but plan your own study. The Utah Insurance Department states that Utah has no pre-licensing requirements for licensure. It also does not offer, review or approve study materials, so choose your own prep.

Fingerprints come after the exam. Resident applicants are fingerprinted by live scan at a Prometric test center after passing. The fees are $32 for the FBI and BCI checks ($12 FBI, $20 BCI) plus a $6 Prometric processing fee. Existing resident licensees adding a line do not need new fingerprints.

Apply within 90 days. Do not submit an application before you pass. After passing, apply at a Prometric kiosk or through Sircon or NIPR. The bulletin says the application and fee must be submitted within 90 days of passing, or the exam must be retaken.

Retakes and rescheduling. The bulletin states no waiting period or attempt limit, but each retake needs a new exam fee. Rescheduling requires contacting Prometric at least 24 hours before the appointment, and cancelling later forfeits the fee.

Sample Utah Life & Health Insurance Exam Questions

1. Under Utah law, what is the minimum grace period for an individual life insurance policy with annual premiums?

  • A. 10 days
  • B. 30 days
  • C. 31 days
  • D. 60 days
Correct: C. Utah Code ยง 31A-22-402(2) says the grace period for an individual life insurance policy may not be less than 31 days, or four weeks for policies with premiums payable more often than monthly. Group policies are excluded, so an annual-premium individual policy needs at least 31 days.

2. Utah's incontestability statute makes an individual life insurance policy incontestable after it has been in force for what period from its date of issue, except for nonpayment of premiums?

  • A. One year
  • B. Two years
  • C. Three years
  • D. Five years
Correct: B. Utah Code ยง 31A-22-403(2)(a) provides that a life insurance policy is incontestable after it has been in force for two years from the policy's date of issue, during the insured's lifetime. Under subsection (3)(a) the policy may still be contested for nonpayment of premiums, and subsection (1) excludes group policies.

3. An insured's age was misstated on a Utah life insurance application and the error was not corrected during the insured's lifetime. What is the amount payable under the policy?

  • A. The full face amount, whatever the misstatement
  • B. The amount the premium paid would have purchased at the correct age
  • C. Nothing, because the policy is void
  • D. The premiums paid, returned without interest
Correct: B. Utah Code ยง 31A-22-405(1) provides that if the insured's age is misstated and not corrected during the insured's lifetime, the amount payable under the policy is what the premium paid would have purchased had the age been stated correctly. The policy is not voided and the full face amount is not automatically paid.

Study Tips for the Utah Life & Health Exam

Accident and health sections add up to about 45% of the combined exam, life sections about 43%, and insurance regulation plus general insurance the other 12%. The largest single sections are Accident and Health Basics (12%), Medical Plans (10%) and Group Accident and Health (10%), so give those as much time as life policy provisions (9%) and annuities (9%).

Insurance Regulation (7%) and General Insurance (5%) are only 12% together, but the bulletin says the exams contain sections on Utah statutes. Review Utah Insurance Code (Title 31A) topics such as the grace period, incontestability and misstatement of age rules in our practice questions.

Because no passing score is published, aim for strong results in every section rather than a minimum. Use the section percentages on your score report to focus a retake, remember each retake needs a new fee, and apply within 90 days of passing.

Also licensing in property or casualty? See our Utah Property & Casualty practice exam. National content is in our life and health practice exam, and our insurance license exam study guide covers exam strategy.

How to Get Your Utah Life & Health Insurance License

There are four steps to get your Utah insurance producer license for the Life and Accident and Health lines.

Steps to Get Your Utah Life & Health Insurance License

StepWhat to Do
1. PrepareUtah has no pre-licensing requirement, and the Insurance Department does not provide or approve study materials. Use the Prometric content outline for Series 17-03, or 17-01 and 17-02 if you want a single line.
2. Register and ScheduleRegister with Prometric and pay the exam fee ($44 for the combined 17-03 exam, $32 for a single line). Schedule at a Prometric test center or by remote proctoring. Your name must match your government ID exactly.
3. Pass the ExamThe combined exam has 150 questions and a 2.5-hour limit. Prometric does not publish a passing score, and your report shows your overall result and the percentage correct by section.
4. Apply and Be FingerprintedAfter passing, apply at a Prometric kiosk or through Sircon or NIPR within 90 days, pay the $32 FBI/BCI fee and the $6 Prometric fee, and be fingerprinted at the test center. Licenses last two years and renewal requires 24 hours of CE.

Utah Life & Health Insurance License Requirements at a Glance

RequirementDetail
ExamsLife (17-01), Accident and Health (17-02) or combined Life, Accident and Health (17-03), all from Prometric
Combined exam150 questions, 2.5 hours, $44 exam fee
Single-line exams100 questions, 2 hours, $32 exam fee each
Passing scoreNot stated in the Prometric bulletin; the report shows overall and section percentages
Pre-license educationNone required; the Department does not review study materials
FingerprintingLive scan at a Prometric test center after passing; $32 FBI/BCI fee plus $6 Prometric fee
Apply after passingWithin 90 days, at a Prometric kiosk or through Sircon or NIPR
Testing methodPrometric test center or remote proctoring (ProProctor); Spanish exams are available
License termTwo years (Utah Code ยง 31A-23a-202)
Continuing education24 hours per period with at least 3 in ethics, 12 classroom or equivalent, and no more than 12 from insurer-provided courses
RetakesNew exam fee each time; no waiting period or attempt limit stated in the bulletin
Licensing authorityUtah Insurance Department

Verified against the Prometric Utah License Information Bulletin (effective September 25, 2025), the Utah Insurance Department producer exam, renewal and continuing education pages, and Utah Code Title 31A. Fees and requirements change; confirm current figures with the Department and Prometric before you apply.

Our free Utah Life & Health practice exam covers general insurance and Utah content. You can also try the national life and health practice exam or the insurance license exam study guide.

Interested in where this license leads? See our guide to insurance careers โ€” including salary ranges, how to break in, and what the career looks like day to day.

Frequently Asked Questions โ€” Utah Life & Health Insurance Exam

How many questions are on the Utah Life and Health exam?

The combined Life, Accident and Health exam (Series 17-03) has 150 questions and a 2.5-hour time limit. The separate Life (17-01) and Accident and Health (17-02) exams have 100 questions and 2 hours each. The bulletin says exams may include unscored experimental questions.

What is the passing score for the Utah insurance exam?

The Prometric Utah bulletin does not state a passing score. Your score report shows your overall percentage, grade and pass/fail result, plus the percentage correct in each major section.

Does Utah require pre-licensing education?

No. The Utah Insurance Department states that Utah has no pre-licensing requirements for licensure, and it does not offer or approve study materials.

How much does the Utah insurance exam cost?

The Prometric bulletin lists $44 for the combined Life, Accident and Health exam and $32 for the single-line Life or Accident and Health exam. Fingerprinting adds a $32 FBI/BCI fee and a $6 Prometric fee, and all fees are non-refundable.

Is fingerprinting required in Utah and when is it done?

Yes for initial resident licensees. You are fingerprinted by live scan at a Prometric test center after you pass the exam. Existing resident licensees adding a line of authority do not need to be fingerprinted again.

Can I take the Utah insurance exam online?

Yes. Prometric offers Utah insurance exams at test centers and by remote proctoring through ProProctor, which requires a computer with a camera, microphone and internet connection.

What are the continuing education requirements in Utah?

Non-title resident producers complete 24 hours of approved CE with at least 3 hours of ethics, 12 hours classroom or classroom equivalent and no more than 12 hours from insurer-provided courses. The license period is two years.

How long do I have to apply after passing the Utah exam?

The Prometric bulletin says the application and fee must be submitted within 90 days of passing. After 90 days you must retake the exam.

Practice Exam Questions โ€” Utah Life & Health

4 state-specific questions based on official sources. Correct answer highlighted in green.

Question 1 of 4

Which company administers the Utah insurance producer licensing exams?

  • Pearson VUE
  • PSI Services
  • Prometric
  • The Utah Insurance Department directly
Correct: C. The Utah Insurance Department's exam page states that Prometric administers all Utah producer exams, at a Prometric test center or by remote proctoring (ProProctor).
Question 2 of 4

How many hours of pre-licensing education does Utah require for a resident producer license?

  • None
  • 20 hours
  • 40 hours
  • 50 hours
Correct: A. The Utah Insurance Department states that Utah has no pre-licensing requirements for licensure, and it does not offer or approve study materials.
Question 3 of 4

When and where are resident applicants fingerprinted in Utah?

  • By mail before the exam, using an ink card
  • At a Prometric test center after passing the exam
  • At a local police station before registering for the exam
  • Fingerprinting is not required
Correct: B. Resident applicants are fingerprinted by live scan at a Prometric test center after passing the exam. The fees are a $32 FBI/BCI fee ($12 FBI and $20 BCI) plus a $6 Prometric processing fee. An applicant who does not pass is not fingerprinted.
Question 4 of 4

After passing the Prometric exam, how long do you have to submit your Utah license application and fee?

  • 30 days
  • 90 days
  • 183 days
  • One year
Correct: B. The Prometric Utah License Information Bulletin says the application and fee must be submitted within 90 days of passing. After 90 days the exam must be retaken.
Free Account

Track Your Utah Exam Progress

Save scores, track improvement, and resume in-progress exams across all sections.

Save all exam scoresTrack improvement over timeResume in-progress examsAlways free
No credit card · No commitment · Cancel anytime
Advertisement

Your ad here. Reach thousands of licensing exam candidates daily

00:00
Loading...
Score: 0 / 0