Virginia Life, Annuities & Health Insurance License Practice Exam
Series 11-01: 140 scored questions plus 10 unscored pretest questions, 150 minutes, $35 exam fee. Prometric does not publish a passing score, and Virginia requires no pre-licensing education for life and health.
Virginia L&H Exam Topics
Focus on Virginia insurance law or drill national concepts. The real Series 11-01 exam is one 140-question exam with no separate state section, and a full 140-question timed practice exam is available.
Life Insurance
Term, whole life, universal life, variable life, annuities, riders, policy provisions, nonforfeiture, beneficiaries, underwriting.
Health Insurance
Individual and group health, disability income, LTC, managed care, Medicare, COBRA, ACA essentials.
Virginia State Law
SCC Bureau of Insurance, Virginia Insurance Code (Title 38.2), producer licensing and license maintenance, unfair trade practices, Virginia eligibility rules for medical plans.
Policy Provisions
Contract law, insurable interest, beneficiaries, assignments, taxation of premiums & proceeds, Social Security, replacement.
🌟 Full VA Exam
140-question timed practice exam modeled on Prometric Series 11-01, which allows 2 hrs 30 min. Prometric does not publish a passing score.
About the Virginia Life & Health Insurance Exam
Virginia agent licensing exams are administered by Prometric for the State Corporation Commission's Bureau of Insurance. The combined Life, Annuities and Health exam is Series 11-01, and Virginia also offers a separate Life and Annuities exam (11-05) and Health exam (11-06), each allowing 120 minutes. Virginia requires pre-licensing education only for the Title license, so the life and health exams have no education requirement. Resident applicants for a new license must be fingerprinted (Va. Code ยง 38.2-1819), and exams can be taken at a test center or by remote proctoring.
The Series 11-01 content outline lists 140 scored questions plus 10 unscored pretest questions, and the bulletin allows 150 minutes. The exam fee is $35. Prometric's bulletin does not publish a passing score: the total is the number correct divided by the total number of questions, and the score report shows the percentage correct in each major section. Exam results stay valid for a license application for 183 calendar days.
Virginia Life & Health Insurance Exam Topic Breakdown
| Section | Questions / Weight | Key Topics |
|---|---|---|
| 1. Insurance Regulation | 10% (14) | Licensing, license maintenance, state and federal regulation, unfair trade practices, ACA market reforms |
| 2. General Insurance | 6% (8) | Risk management, insurer types, agency relationships, contract law |
| 3. Life Insurance Basics | 6% (8) | Insurable interest, personal and business uses of life insurance, premiums, agent duties, underwriting |
| 4. Life Insurance Policies | 10% (14) | Term, whole life, flexible premium, specialized and group life policies |
| 5. Policy Provisions, Options and Riders | 11% (16) | Standard provisions, beneficiaries, settlement and nonforfeiture options, loans, dividends, disability and accelerated benefit riders |
| 6. Annuities | 6% (8) | Annuity principles, immediate and deferred types, payout options, products, uses |
| 7. Federal Tax Considerations for Life Insurance and Annuities | 2% (3) | Policy and annuity taxation, MECs, IRAs, rollovers, 1035 exchanges |
| 8. Qualified Plans | 2% (3) | General requirements, tax treatment, plan types |
| 9. Health Insurance Basics | 6% (8) | Perils, types of losses, classes of policies, limited policies, exclusions, agent duties, underwriting, replacement |
| 10. Individual Health Insurance Policy General Provisions | 11% (16) | Required and optional provisions, renewability, other general provisions |
| 11. Disability Income and Related Insurance | 5% (7) | Benefit qualification, individual and group disability, business disability, Social Security disability, workers compensation |
| 12. Medical Plans | 6% (8) | Plan concepts, major medical, HMOs, PPOs, cost containment, Virginia eligibility rules, HIPAA, HSAs and HRAs |
| 13. Group Health Insurance | 5% (7) | Group characteristics, defined groups, employer plan design, eligibility, continuation rules, small employer plans |
| 14. Dental Insurance | 1% (2) | Treatment types, indemnity plans, employer dental coverage |
| 15. Insurance for Senior Citizens and Special Needs Individuals | 11% (15) | Medicare Parts A through D, Medicare supplements, other options for Medicare-eligible people, long-term care |
| 16. Federal Tax Considerations for Health Insurance | 2% (3) | Taxation of personal and employer health coverage, business disability, HSAs, HRAs, FSAs |
Weights and item counts are from the Prometric Virginia content outline for Series 11-01 (140 scored questions plus 10 unscored pretest questions). The outline does not separate a Virginia-only portion; Virginia law is tested within the sections above, mainly Insurance Regulation.
What Makes the Virginia Life & Health Exam Different
One combined exam or two separate ones. Series 11-01 covers life, annuities and health in one 150-minute exam. Virginia also offers a Life and Annuities exam (11-05) and a Health exam (11-06) with 120 minutes each. The bulletin does not give question counts for those two.
No separate state section. Virginia's outline is one 140-question exam. The bulletin says the total score is the number correct divided by the total number of questions, with section percentages shown on the score report only to guide study. It does not describe separate passing marks for national and state sections.
Four-option multiple choice, with unscored items. Every question has four options, and 10 unscored pretest questions are mixed in unidentified. The time spent on them is not deducted from your testing time.
Retake rules are set by statute. The bulletin requires a 24-hour wait before rebooking a failed exam. Under Va. Code ยง 38.2-1817(B), a resident applicant who fails three times must wait 30 calendar days before retaking. Registration lapses 90 days after processing if you do not test.
Fingerprints and application. Resident applicants are fingerprinted at a FieldPrint site by live scan (prints must be no more than 90 days old), then apply through Sircon or NIPR. Applications take about 15 business days, or at least 30 business days if you answer yes to a background question.
License renewal and CE. Virginia licenses renew every two years based on the agent's birth month (Va. Code ยง 38.2-1825.1). Continuing education is 16 hours per biennium for a single license category, including 3 hours of ethics, and 24 hours with at least 8 in each category for agents holding more than one (Va. Code ยง 38.2-1866).
Sample Virginia Life & Health Insurance Exam Questions
1. Under Virginia law, an individual life insurance policy must give the insured a grace period for paying each premium after the first of not less than how many days?
2. Under the Code of Virginia, an individual life insurance policy must provide that it is incontestable after it has been in force during the insured's lifetime for how long from its date of issue?
3. A Virginia life insurance applicant's age was misstated, and the error was not discovered until the insured died. How does Virginia law determine the amount payable?
Study Tips for the Virginia Life & Health Exam
Five sections carry about 54% of the 140 scored questions: Policy Provisions, Options and Riders (16), Individual Health Policy General Provisions (16), Senior Citizens and Special Needs (15), Life Insurance Policies (14) and Insurance Regulation (14). Study those first.
Insurance Regulation is where Virginia law is tested, with licensing, license maintenance, unfair trade practices and ACA market reforms. Learn the Code of Virginia Title 38.2 rules that apply to life and health, such as the 31-day grace period, two-year incontestability and misstatement of age rules.
No passing score is published, so aim for strong results in every section. Your report shows the percentage correct in each major section, which is a useful guide if you must retake. Retakes need a new fee and a 24-hour wait, and your result is valid for a license application for 183 days.
Also licensing in property or casualty? See our Virginia Property & Casualty practice exam. National content is in our life and health practice exam, and our insurance license exam study guide covers exam strategy.
How to Get Your Virginia Life & Health Insurance License
There are four steps to get your Virginia insurance agent license for Life, Annuities and Health.
Steps to Get Your Virginia Life & Health Insurance License
| Step | What to Do |
|---|---|
| 1. Prepare | Virginia has no pre-licensing education requirement for life and health exams (only Title requires a course), and neither the Bureau nor Prometric approves study materials. Review the Series 11-01 content outline from Prometric. |
| 2. Register and Schedule | Register with Prometric, pay the $35 exam fee and schedule at a test center or by remote proctoring. Registration expires 90 calendar days after processing. Bring two valid IDs, the primary one government-issued with photo and signature. |
| 3. Pass the Exam | You have 150 minutes for 140 scored questions. Prometric does not publish a passing score, and your report shows the percentage correct in each major section. Your result is valid for a license application for 183 calendar days. |
| 4. Be Fingerprinted and Apply | Register and pay for live scan at a FieldPrint site, then apply through Sircon or NIPR with your documents. Processing takes about 15 business days. Renew every two years with 16 hours of CE for a single license category, including 3 hours of ethics. |
Virginia Life & Health Insurance License Requirements at a Glance
| Requirement | Detail |
|---|---|
| Exam | Series 11-01 Life, Annuities and Health, Prometric; also 11-05 Life and Annuities and 11-06 Health (120 minutes each) |
| Scored questions | 140, plus 10 unscored pretest questions |
| Time limit | 150 minutes |
| Exam fee | $35 per examination |
| Passing score | Not stated in the Prometric bulletin; total is number correct divided by total questions |
| Pre-license education | None for life and health; only the Title exam requires a 16-hour course |
| Fingerprinting | Required for resident applicants through a FieldPrint live scan site (Va. Code ยง 38.2-1819) |
| Score validity | 183 calendar days for a license application |
| Retakes | Wait 24 hours before rebooking; after a third failure wait 30 calendar days (Va. Code ยง 38.2-1817) |
| License term | Two years, renewed by birth month (Va. Code ยง 38.2-1825.1) |
| Continuing education | 16 hours per biennium for one license category, 3 hours of ethics; 24 hours with 8 per category if more than one |
| Testing method | Prometric test center or remote proctoring (ProProctor) |
| Licensing authority | Virginia State Corporation Commission Bureau of Insurance |
Verified against the Prometric Virginia License Information Bulletin and content outline, the State Corporation Commission Bureau of Insurance licensing page, and the Code of Virginia Title 38.2. Fees and requirements change; confirm current figures with the Bureau and Prometric before you apply.
Our free Virginia Life & Health practice exam covers general insurance and Virginia content. You can also try the national life and health practice exam or the insurance license exam study guide.
Interested in where this license leads? See our guide to insurance careers โ including salary ranges, how to break in, and what the career looks like day to day.
Frequently Asked Questions โ Virginia Life & Health Insurance Exam
How many questions are on the Virginia Life, Annuities and Health exam?
The Series 11-01 content outline lists 140 scored questions plus 10 unscored pretest questions, with a 150-minute time limit. The pretest questions are mixed in and not identified.
What is the passing score for the Virginia insurance exam?
The Prometric bulletin does not state a passing score. It says the total score is the number of correct answers divided by the total number of questions, and the report shows the percentage correct in each major section.
Does Virginia require pre-licensing education for Life and Health?
No. The Prometric bulletin specifies a pre-licensing course only for the Title exam. The Life, Annuities and Health exam has no education requirement stated.
How much does the Virginia insurance exam cost?
The exam fee is $35 per examination, according to the State Corporation Commission and the Prometric bulletin. The application processing fee is separate, nonrefundable and nontransferable.
Is fingerprinting required in Virginia?
Yes for resident applicants. Va. Code ยง 38.2-1819 requires fingerprints for new resident licenses, and the Prometric bulletin directs candidates to a FieldPrint live scan site, with prints no more than 90 days old when submitted.
Can I take the Virginia insurance exam online?
Yes. Prometric offers Virginia insurance exams at test centers and by remote proctoring through ProProctor, which the Bureau of Insurance began offering June 1, 2020.
What are the continuing education requirements in Virginia?
Va. Code ยง 38.2-1866 requires 16 hours per two-year period for a single license category, including 3 hours of ethics, and 24 hours with at least 8 in each category for agents holding licenses in more than one category.
How long is a passing Virginia exam result valid?
Exam results are valid for a license application for 183 calendar days. Va. Code ยง 38.2-1817 provides that the grade becomes invalid if you do not obtain the license in that time.
Practice Exam Questions โ Virginia Life & Health
4 state-specific questions based on official sources. Correct answer highlighted in green.
Which company administers the Virginia insurance agent licensing exams for the Bureau of Insurance?
- Pearson VUE
- PSI Services
- Prometric
- The State Corporation Commission itself
Which Virginia insurance license exam requires a pre-licensing study course?
- Life, Annuities and Health
- Property and Casualty
- Personal Lines
- Title
How long does a passing Virginia exam result remain valid for a license application?
- 30 calendar days
- 90 calendar days
- 183 calendar days
- One year
After a resident applicant fails the Virginia exam three times, what must the applicant do before retaking it?
- Pay a double exam fee
- Complete a 16-hour course
- Wait 30 calendar days
- Nothing; the applicant may retake the next day